Mom Hack: Camelbak Bottles

Camelbak Mom Hack

PIN IT!

This…this is the water bottle that saved my sanity.

Camelback Water Bottle

Okay, maybe that was a little dramatic, but not by much.

About a month or so ago now, I was reading one of my favorite blogs, Large Families on Purpose by Erika Shupe. While we don’t have a large family by most standards and certainly not as large as Erika’s, her organizational tips and tools are right up my OCD alley. She lives with her husband and their nine children in an 1100 square foot house in Washington state. Every space, every minute, every car, every closet, every cabinet is meticulously organized, and this organizational masterpiece is cataloged on her site. I’m considering moving in.

When I got to her post about the sippy cup madness, I knew I’d found a fellow sufferer.

In our house lives this little person. His name is Ty.

Ty Ring Pop

He likes to swim, nap, watch Curious George, take long walks on the beach, share Ring Pops with his sister, and eat the straws off of his sippy cups. Yes, we feed him regularly.

Exhibit A:

sippy cups edited

And while this, in and of itself, is reason enough for me to chuck the sippy cup altogether (choking hazard much?), there’s also the matter of the sippy cup cabinet.  Every time I reached into that dad-gummed thing, something fell over, creating a domino effect. I’d spend the next half-hour trying to figure out which straw went with which cup and where the blue top was.

Ain’t nobody got time for that.

Enter Erika’s post. She blogs that she invested in Camelbak water bottles for all of her children. The gist is that she uses the smaller-sized bottles, like Ty’s dinosaur bottle, for the smaller children, while big kids get a full-sized bottle. Every kid gets a different color. Each morning, one of her older children fills each child’s bottle with water, and the bottles are stationed, all day, at each child’s place at the kitchen table. No more kids asking for a drink of water…constantly. No more spills. No more, “Whose cup is this?” No more, “Where’s your juice?” No more finding cups of milk days later in the toy box. No. More. Eating. Of. The. Sippy. Straws. Over.

Throughout the day, she has an easy read on how much water each child is drinking, which may not be a huge deal in the soggy Northwest, but here in Texas, it’s a thing.

I loved this idea so much that I bought, that very day, this bottle for young Ty. They’re a little bit pricey, but at the rate we were chewing going through sippy cups (and my sanity), this has saved us a half-ton of money.

Camelback Water Bottle

Each day he drinks out of it, and I keep a mental note of how much water he’s had in the 100-degree Texas heat. Each evening I rinse it and lay it out to dry. Every so often I run it through the dishwasher. And the best part? He doesn’t chew the straw!

I loved this idea so much that, when my punk nephews (Auntie Heather loves y’all!) were coming to Texas for a visit, I bought them each one, too.

nb collag 2

They’re a little bit pricey, but at the rate we were chewing going through sippy cups (and my sanity), this has saved us a half-ton of money.boy got a different color and nobody got their juice stolen. Eeeeeeeverybody’s happy. I’d have paid twice that for the sheer argument-less value alone!

Now that The 30-Day Exercise Challenge is upon us, I’m thinking of getting one for McKenna (age 14) who’s going to be Shredding with me (not by choice but graciously, nonetheless) and, maybe, just maybe, I’ll get one for myself.

I love this turquoise color. It makes me feel peaceful. When one is Shredding anything that makes one feel peaceful is more than welcomed.

Camelbak bottles are BPA-free. They have glass options too, but that doesn’t fit a two-year-old’s lifestyle. They also provide a lifetime guarantee on them. Finally, and this is my favorite part, the straw and spout are easily replaced by purchasing an inexpensive straw kit. I got the boys’ bottles at Target, but they are sold wherever sporting goods are. Amazon has them, too.

Now, go forth and reclaim your sanity, Mama!

7 thoughts on “Mom Hack: Camelbak Bottles

  1. Good one!  I would think you would have to refill it a time or 2 here in the Texas heat, but good review/report. I bought a large PBAfree plastic watercup @ Target too, made in America, which I really like – for whenever I leave the house….

    Like your blog.

    Like

  2. I am so glad to know my 3 y/o isn’t the only straw/spout eating monster!! How can silicone taste that good?!? He has even eaten our house phone antenna off… 😁 haha.

    Thanks for this, I’m going to have to go shopping soon!

    Like

  3. Hello Heather! This was such a fun post to read. Im so happy that you found this plan useful for your precious family. Im confident water drinking is much more important where you live than it is here but besides the heat issue we find it to just be a better solution to juice, milk, pop etc.

    Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  4. Pingback: Printable Meal Plan Plus A GIVEAWAY | Adventures In Womanland

Leave a Reply

