The Daffodil Story

I went outside awhile back to breathe in some of this fresh, spring air. While I was out, I spotted a cluster of these.

Hello, Sunshine.

As I began to look more closely, I noticed that, not only was each daffodil family announcing the arrival of spring, but each was also telling the tale of its own familial group.

Knowing you’d want to hear the stories, I took a few pics, so I could share.

In short, there are a variety of types of daffodil families, not unlike human families. This is Sean and Maeve, and their precious, little, new addition, Patrick.

Apparently, the ideal daffodil family includes the father and mother, with any number of children, all going the same general direction. They share a common vision, have a shared purpose, if you will.

This is Ronan.

Every so often, you come across a lone daffodil like Ronan. It’s widely accepted that, within the daffodil community, singleness is not a scourge, but rather a satisfactory lifestyle. Single daffodils aren’t out on the make for other single daffodils, but rather glory in their own beauty and the independent nature of one.

This is Aidan and Kiera.

The trouble comes in when you’ve got partners going in differing directions. If I’ve seen it once, I’ve seen it a thousand times.  There’s no clear vision, no purpose for the relationship, and so it gets off-track. The kids are grown, and the romance is gone.  This one wants to fish and that one wants to go antique-ing, and they just can’t seem to find the time to be a team anymore.

It’s sad, really.

That’s not the worst of it, though.  The worst of it are couples like Liam and Grace.

Tsk, tsk.  Because the case hasn’t yet gone to court, I’m not at liberty to disclose the name of the party that’s lying on the ground.  All the evidence which, at this point, is circumstantial, points to the partner who has chosen to face away in an attempt at appearing not to know.  Video footage is being reviewed, and prints are being examined.  This thing could drag on for years. Suffice it to say: somebody’s in big trouble. And to think, we thought life out here in the country was quiet and peaceful.

Clearly my bye-week between doctoral classes leaves me with too much time on my hands.

Needing vitamin D,

AinW

2 thoughts on “The Daffodil Story

  1. You’re very creative! I’d be so overwhelmed with happiness if I saw an actual flower in bloom that I fear my jumping up and down may accidentally trample one of those lovely families. Or, heaven forbid, a single!

    -FringeGirl

    Like

Leave a Reply

