Easy-Peasy Whipped Icing

As promised, I’m posting the icing recipe I used when I sent The Boys some cupcakes awhile back.

The recipe comes from this kid.

Not that sweet, precious kid on the right, but the other one. The one on the left.  Though she’s only a few years behind me, she’s the youngest of the grandchildren in my family.  Therefore, she is, and always will be, The Kid.  She’s an excellent cook.

Here’s what you need to whip it up:

Some shortening, some powdered sugar, almond extract, water, and, the kicker, non-dairy coffee creamer.  I used food coloring, too, but you can just roll with the white if that’s what you’re feeling.

With the mixer, beat the shortening, creamer, and extract.

Gradually beat in the sugar.

I don’t have enough patience for ‘gradually,’ which is why I usually have a significant amount of powdered sugar to clean up on the back-end. It’s okay. I count the clean-up energy expenditure as my daily exercise, so it all balances out.

Anyway, once all the sugar’s incorporated, it looks about like this:

Here’s where the water comes in.  Add between a half and three-fourths of a cup while the mixer is running. Stop adding water when it reaches your desired consistency.  Here’s mine:

Here’s where I squirted a little blue food coloring in and let the mixer do the work.  I have no idea why I chose blue, or any color for that matter. It was a nice day, and the sky inspired me.

Yeah, that’s it.

Scrape the bowl down and check to make sure everything’s copacetic.

Now, you could just eat the icing with a spoon.  Or, you could spread the icing onto the cake/cupcakes at this point. I went another route. After I ate a spoonful, of course.

Not having any fancy cake decorating tools, I turned to my trusty gallon-sized Ziploc bag.

Fill one corner of the bag with as much icing as you can effectively work with. I can work with alot. The level of effectiveness is debatable.

Cut the tip out of the icing-filled corner and commence ta icin’.

And there you have it.  Now, these here cupcakes ain’t gonna win any Cupcake Wars, but they’ll work for us regular folk. Besides, if I got too fancy, people’d think I was tryin’ to put on airs.

Rustic cupcakes are a social survival tool for me, really.

This icing recipe works for any type of cake or cupcakes. Heck, it probably would even be good on some sugar cookies.  I went with regular shortening and creamer and almond extract. However, I couldn’t help but wonder what would happen if I used butter-flavored shortening and/or peppermint-flavored creamer and peppermint extract.  Or what about French Vanilla creamer and vanilla extract? Or chocolate flavored creamer and peppermint extract? Or regular creamer and lemon extract? Or regular creamer and rum extract? Or…you get the point…the combinations seems endless.  Let me know if you come up with a good one.

Click, print, trim, and go: Whipped Icing

Go ice something,

AinW

2 thoughts on “Easy-Peasy Whipped Icing

  1. Pingback: Mammawisms « Adventures In Womanland

Leave a Reply

