Wednesday Weigh-In Week Two

Week Two over and done! Some success, some not. Moving on.

Weight (Loss)/Gain This Week: +0.6

Total Weight Loss to Date: 5.8 lbs.

Days Exercised (out of 7…the goal is 6): 6

Food Pick of the Week: WalMart’s fudge-covered popcorn…a cup and a half for 150 calories, people!

Joys/Successes: getting stronger every day, having a friend message me that she had started trying to lose weight (hoping I was inspirational)

Challenges: a little bit of a weight gain

Here’s the thing: I could look at this week as a failure, since I did, in fact, gain a bit of weight. I choose not to do that for three reasons:

1. I exercised my patootie off this week, meeting my exercise goal, although I felt like garbage most of the week.

2. I ate healthily all week. No cheating. No fast food. No nothing I wasn’t supposed to have.

3. If I did see this week as a failure, I’d quit now, drive to Five Guys for one of their delicious hamburger/fry combos, and call it a day.

And that ain’t happenin’.

I’m in this for the long-haul. I’ve said it before, but I’m saying it again: “Weight loss is not a sprint measured in days, but rather a marathon measured in weeks, or even months.”

Yes, the scale says I gained.

No, the tape measure doesn’t tell me I’m losing inches.

No, my clothes aren’t falling off of me yet.

It’s okay because I did my part, and I feel good about that.

Here’s how I choose to see it: I lost an extraordinary amount of weight last week, and my body needed to equalize.

Yeah, that’s it. Equalize. I’m equalizin’ over here. It’s all good.

Let me tell you a few things about this coming week:

1. I am going to continue to keep a food journal. I have an Excel spreadsheet into which I type everything I eat and its caloric value. I also track my exercise for the day and make notes on how I’m feeling, challenges, joys, etc.  I also have my weekly weigh-in, my measurements, and the “before” pics there. If you ever got ahold of this spreadsheet, you could make a bundle just in blackmailing me alone.

2. I am going to switch up my exercise routine.  In the past, anytime I’ve done weight-bearing exercise (like that I’ve been doing with Jillian these days), I haven’t lost weight as well as I do just walking and doing Pilates. Guess what? It’s back to the treadmill for a 30 to 40-minute session every other day. Incline up, speed up, heart rate up. On the treadmill off-days, I’m doing Mari Winsor’s 20-minute Pilates workout.

If you watched this video, you’d say, “Huh, that wasn’t so hard. They’re not even sweating.”

But if you did it along with them, there’d be sweating.

Lots of sweating.

And, later, your abs would be screaming at you when you were trying to sleep.

Me? I’m a pro. I can handle it. But you’d have problems.

Hypothetically, theoretically.

Off to eat some fudge-covered popcorn,

AinW

7 thoughts on “Wednesday Weigh-In Week Two

  1. I LOVE Winsor Pilates! Good stuff.
    And if you think of the fact that you turned fat into muscle and muscle weighs more than fat, then you pretty much were awesome this week!

    Like

  2. Congrats! I guess you know that you might have gained lean muscle instead of losing some fat. Is that equalizin’? I lost 25, gained 7 back and lost 4 last week.

    There is a website (and iPhone app) called loseit.com. It says I have lost 30 pounds since December, 2009. Two things that made me realize:
    1. I had no clue I had been logging my calories for that long.
    2. 30 lbs? Gosh, I was FAT!

    Good luck to you. I may start excerising now.

    Like

  3. Oh, if my encouragement is not enough, here is a little something from the Bible I ran across last night.

    “No discipline seems pleasant at the time, but painful. Later on, however, it produces a harvest of righteousness and peace for those who have been trained by it.” Hebrews 12:11

    I am looking for the peace. That seems less attainable than rightousness for me – lol!

    Like

  4. I am in an e-mail chain with 3 other friends regarding daily inspiration for weight loss and the challenges we face. We’ve been doing this for over a year now, but I can tell you one consistent thing: The scale has a mind of its own.
    We can stuff our faces with french fries and the scale will say we’ve lost. We can eat nothing but broccoli and we will gain 3 pounds.
    One thing is for sure though, the more broccoli we eat, the faster the number goes down permanently.

    I can’t wait to hear how next week goes! The popcorn looks amazing and I can’t wait to buy it next week. Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

