Basketball All-Time All-Stars

Here are some things you should know about me:

1. I was force-fed basketball by my father as a child. Not the actual ball. The game. On T.V.

2. I was force-fed Westerns as a child. I have seen every episode of the Rifleman, Gunsmoke, The Big Valley, The Lone Ranger, and Bonanza. Many times.

3. I still have issues over each of these.

4. Therefore, I am not a basketball fan. Don’t even get me started on the West, traveling in a Western direction, Western omelettes, or Kanye West. I’m scarred for life.

Besides, there’s not enough violence in basketball. I’m really more of a football/hockey/rugby/Chinese-women’s-soccer kind of girl. Nevertheless, over the course of the past few weeks, I have successfully located the current greatest basketball players in the world.

When I say that, you might think…

…Lebron, who obviously has forgotten he’s there to PLAY BASKETBALL, or…

…Kobe, who, although well biceped, would be wise not to make that particular face anymore, or maybe…

…Pau, whose name I sometimes say just to make me laugh. Pahoooooo!

However, I want to challenge your thinking just a bit. From here on out, when you hear “All-Star Basketball Player,” do me a favor and think about  these, two players:

#23, and…

#10.

I call them by their numbers because I have no idea what their names are. They play for the boys’ and girls’ teams, respectively, for which my homeschooled daughter is graciously allowed to cheer. In short, they play high school basketball for a small, private, Christian school. In the stands are about 100 of the most quiet fans you’ll never hear, and yet they play. No money, no fame, no glory, no Cribs.

Neither of them is the fastest or the best shot on his/her respective team.

Neither of them may ever be the highest scorer or the player of the game.

Neither of them is even the tallest.

But what they have in common is spunk, the spitfire desire to scrap until the buzzer sounds. The Duke would say they have true grit. No millions, no Escalades, no T.V. cameras, no awards, no snakes in their boots, no wins, and yet they both give 110% every playing minute of every game in which I’ve seen them play.

If that doesn’t make them superstars, then I don’t know what does.

Off to therapy,

AinW

Leave a Reply

