A Quote Addiction: Do NOT Judge Me!

I have an addiction.  Well, okay, I have a few, but only one which I choose to discuss today.

I am addicted to quotes.

You know, things other people say. To be honest, sometimes they’re things I say. For example, “Honey, just because they make it in your size doesn’t mean you have to wear it.”  That’s an AinW original, and you can quote me on that one the next time you see a girl my size in something uber-short, uber-tight, or with the back out of it. And you will if you look very hard.  They’re everywhere.

Uh, no.

Anyway, at current, my sights are set on Mark Twain. While I don’t agree with his views on politics or religion or just about anything, even a Conservative like me can admit that he’s got a point from time-to-time.  Oh, and like me, he knows how to find the funny.

Here are a few of my favorites of his:

(About appearances): Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.

(About investing): Buy land. They aren’t making anymore.

(From the perspective of someone with way too many degrees…me): Don’t let schooling interfere with your education.

(And again): Education consists mainly of what we have unlearned.

(About stats): Facts are stubborn, but statistics are more pliable.

(About life): Life would be infinitely happier if we could only be born at the age of eighty and gradually approach eighteen.

Can I get an “Amen”?

(About procrastination): Never put off till tomorrow that which you can do the day after tomorrow.

(About whackos): The trouble ain’t that there is too many fools, but that the lightning ain’t distributed right.

I should be hearing, “Hallelujah!” at this point.

(About us? we? educated Southerners…the most dangerous kind): The educated Southerner has no use for an ‘R’, except at the beginning of a word.

(About me and educational statistics): The more you explain it, the more I don’t understand it.

And my personal favorite. Heck, it’s the theme of my life (and this blog):

Why shouldn’t truth be stranger than fiction? Fiction, after all, has to make sense.

Trying to find the right-sized clothes,

AinW

7 thoughts on “A Quote Addiction: Do NOT Judge Me!

Leave a Reply

