Small-Town Life

Having never lived in the country or a small town for any length of time, the transition from more-than-full-time working mom in a big city to stay-at-home-homeschooling mom in a small (and I do mean small!) town has been interesting.

I thought I’d take a minute to share with you some of my observations on the differences between city life and life…here.

Because I know you care.

Here they are by category.

Dry Cleaning:

City: “Yes, mam. Your cleaning will be ready tomorrow after 4pm.”
Here: “Your cleaning will be ready sometime the middle of next week.”

Thought: Is that Wednesday, Thursday, Tuesday? What time?  How do you know what kind of starch I like?

Cable/Internet Service:

City: “We can install that for you day-after-tomorrow.  Internet access is important.”
Here: “We can install that for you in about two weeks.”

Thought:  The local paper really has all the news one needs to know, as it turns out.  Oh, and the outside world. What outside world?

Shoe Shopping:

City: Cute shoes
Here: Practical shoes…navy and black only

Thought: Shoot me now.

Home Furnishings:

City: Multiple sources for pieces, accessories, etc.
Here: WalMart or one of the FOUR thrift stores

Thought: The Diva and I are taking a day-trip to Atlanta on Thursday.

Produce:

City: At the grocery store.
Here: In the back of a truck, on the side of the road.

Thought: Home-grown stuff is amazing, though I wish I had a good avocado.

Driving:

City: Fast cars. Palm trees.
Here: Cows. Lots and lots of cows.

Thought: I prefer the cows.

McDonald’s:

City: Fast food, grouchy service.
Here: Fast food, live gospel music (natch!)

Thought: All that spirituality makes the McNasty less deadly.

Electricity:

City: Generally always on.
Here: Hit or miss.

Thought: I am sick and tired of resetting the digital clocks.

Sunday Afternoon:

City: Prepping for the busy week.
Here: Reading the paper, taking a nap, watching FOOTBALL!!!

Thought: Uh, the latter. Duh!

Summary:  IT’S FOOTBALL TIME IN TENNESSEE!!! (That had nothing to do with the post, really. Just wanted to remind you.)

AinW out.

One thought on “Small-Town Life

  1. I am so sorry about the shoes 😦 I share your thoughts on that one……….Thanks for making me laugh, woman. Sounds like you are having quite an adventure. Any cool summer storms?

    Like

Leave a Reply

