An AinW Confession

Today is What I’m Reading/Watching Wednesday. I was thinking I could do a rather intellectual review of the latest book I’m reading in my doctoral program.  Or I could tell  you about the most compelling novel I’ve read lately. Or I could write on and on about the latest curriculum I’m reviewing.

However, I’ve decided to write about something truly of value to us all.

I confess:  I watch Dog the Bounty Hunter.

Do NOT judge me!

Here’s the thing:  it’s sort of like seeing a car accident on the expressway.  You don’t want to look.

But you just can’t help it.

One night, a few years back, I was flipping channels late at night, and there it was.  Just like the wreck scenario, I had to stop.  I didn’t want to, but I couldn’t help myself.  Then I got addicted.  Every time he catches a bail jumper, I get so excited. It’s almost like I’ve caught that sucker myself. Heck, at this point I’m practically a part of his family!

My family thinks I’ve lost my mind.  You and I already knew that to be true, though, didn’t we?  Big Daddy thinks I’m a downright nut.  I’m okay with that. The people in my doctoral program with me…well, let’s just say they don’t know about my little addiction.  I’m too ashamed to tell them.  When one thinks Ph.D., he/she generally doesn’t go the Dog the Bounty Hunter route, though I don’t get that.

I think they should have an advanced degree program for bounty hunters.  He could get, like, a Bh.D., Doctorate in Bounty Hunting.  The coursework could cover topics like where to buy the best mace and how to best care for a mullet (business in the front; party in the back), and the dissertation topic could be the catching of Andrew Luster.  If that were the case, then Dog’s already earned his Bh.D.  He’s Dr. Dog the Bounty Hunter.

Lest you doubt my sensibilities, just take a look at this video.  Because I’m a teacher, I’ll provide you with discussion questions.  As you watch, consider the following questions:

1.  Are any of these activities considered to be “all in a day’s work” for you?
2.  Aren’t you glad that there’s somebody out there who catches bad guys/girls like this?
3.  On a scale from 1-10, how intimidating is Beth?  Be prepared to defend your answer.

Here we go:

See what I mean about the intellectual value here. Bh.D., baby!

6 thoughts on “An AinW Confession

Leave a Reply

