Peanut Butter Lovers: This is for YOU!

If you like peanut butter, you’re gonna LOVE this one!  When I make these, they disappear like hot cakes.  They will bless your heart.  And not in the way I mean when I say, “Bless his heart!” ‘cuz he’s (whoever he is) done something stupid and is “special”. They’ll bless your heart in the good way.

Here’s what you need:

1 cup sugar
1 cup peanut butter (I use creamy. I don’t have a Peter Pan affinity. It was just on sale.)
1 cup light Karo syrup (sugar on sugar is always best, I say)
2 Tbs. butter or margarine (well, duh)
6 cups Corn Flakes
a medium saucepan
a large bowl for mixing
wax paper

Before you begin cooking the candy part, measure out the Corn Flakes into the big mixing bowl.

Then, line the counter with wax paper. About 2 strips of 2 1/2 feet each should do it.

Now, the fun part.

In the saucepan, measure the sugar and Karo.
Put the saucepan on the stove, but don’t turn it on.
Measure the peanut butter and leave it in the measuring cup, then put the butter on top.
Set it beside the saucepan.
Like this.
Now, turn on the stove and bring the sugar/Karo mixture to a boil.  Keep stirring. When it’s boiling, turn off the stove and stir in the peanut butter/butter mixture.

Stir until everything’s melty and smooth.

Resist the urge to pour this in a glass and drink it.  I know you can do it. I have faith in you.

Now, pour this mixture over the Corn Flakes.

Stir it until all the cereal pieces are robed in peanut buttery goodness.  You need the Scent-er-net for this one!

Now, at this point, I know you just want to stick your face down in that bowl and go to town.  Try to contain yourself, please.

Drop them by the tablespoonful onto the wax paper. (Aren’t the Diva’s little baby fingers adorable?)

Let them cool. Then, enjoy!

Come to Mama!

Oh, wait! What’s this? I seem to have run out of space on my wax paper but have some left over.  Oh, well.  Guess I’ll just have to eat it.

Shoot! The girls beat me to it.  I thought NG1 and the Diva were going to duke it out there for a minute.

Running interference,

AinW

Printable recipe card. Click, print, cut, and go.

Peanut Butter Treats

Leave a Reply

