Cake Cookies. They’re Part Cookie, Part Cake, All Good.

These are amazing and simple to make.  Especially so for me because I taught NG1 how to make them long ago, and she’s been at it ever since.

Plus, each BIG cookie is only 1 WW point apiece.  If I save up my points, I can eat a dozen! Not that I do. I’m just sayin’ that’s one way to go.  Always good to keep one’s options open, I say.

Here’s what you need to get started:

1 box cake mix (we’ve tried lots of flavors and, for this recipe we like strawberry and yellow best, but lemon’s good too)
4 oz. fat free Cool Whip (this 12 oz. tub will make 3 batches, or I can make one batch of cookies and eat the rest of the Cool Whip as a backer)
1 egg
confectioner’s sugar
cookie sheets (we use 3, 8 cookies per sheet)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

NG1 starts by putting some confectioner’s sugar in a big ramekin.  Like this:

Then, put the cake mix (she decided to do yellow first), Cool Whip and egg in the mixing bowl:

Then mix it until it looks like this.  The dough will be sticky.  It’s okay. Just keep swimming.  Just keep swimming.

Now’s the fun part.  This part is why I’m thankful NG1’s in the hizzy.

Dust your hands with confectioner’s sugar, and roll a teaspoon of dough into a ball.

NG1's got mad skills!

Repeat 23 more times.

Now, put them in the oven, one pan at a time, and bake for 10-11 minutes. We choose 10 because we like ’em still to be a little doughy.  But that’s just us.

When they’re done, they’ll be cracked and sugary, and good. Like this:

Three of those suckers fit perfectly on the plate.  I’m not saying I ate three; I’m just saying that’s what fit on the plate. But, heck, at 1 point each, three’s company, right?

Oh, if you make them smaller, for a total of 48 cookies, they’re only 1/2 point each. In that case, eat 6!

You can also put them in a Ziploc in the freezer and pull a few out at a time.  Nuke ’em and go.

Enjoy!

Printable recipe card: click, print, cut, and go.

Cake Cookies

Leave a Reply

