As Promised. Taco Soup. It’s the poo.

Well, I did it.

I didn’t want to, but I did.

I made the Taco Soup for dinner tonight.

Yesterday, as you’ll recall, I was going to make the most awesome Taco Soup. However, there was a Chick-fil-A overage at my school, so da girlz and I “ate more chikin” instead.

Well, today, wouldn’t you know, there was a Pizza Hut personal pepperoni pan pizza overage at my school.  I guess it’s overage week. This is unusual.

Heather, I said to myself, you can either feed your girls the pilfered pepperoni pizza

or you can make them the healthy, very tasty Taco Soup you’ve been promising them for two days. (NG2 was not concerned about  my promises, as she does not eat Taco Soup.  She says it’s spicy.  It’s not spicy. She opted for the pizza.)

Well, the whole thing takes about 10 minutes to make, so I went ahead and did it.

Mother-of-the-year.

Here’s what you need to get started:

1 lb. ground beef
1-15 oz. can Ranch Style beans
1-10 oz. can Rotel (I use the milder version.  I figure Big Daddy and NG1 can always add hot sauce if they need more heat.)
1-16 oz. can red kidney beans (I got low sodium ‘cuz I got this job that runs my pressure up so I’m tryin’ to lay off the salt.)
1-11 oz. can shoepeg corn
1 pkg. taco seasoning (I got the Ortega ‘cuz it was the cheapest, but I like the Taco Bell version best.)
1 pkg. Hidden Valley Ranch dressing mix, dry
stock pot
ladle for stirring
can opener (natch!)

There are a few other things you need/might want:
1 onion (my birds won’t eat it so it doesn’t go in at my house)
3 cans water (shoepeg corn cans; total 33 oz.)
to top the soup with: avocado, shredded cheddar (I use fat free. Gotta cut back where you can.), sour cream (Again, with the fat free.), tortilla chips (I like the Scoops because I dip the soup with them.)

Step One:

Brown the ground beef in the pot.

Drain well.

Make sure all those cans are open for the next step.

Step Two:

Return meat to pot.  Add Ranch Style beans, Rotel, red kidney beans, shoepeg corn, 3 corn cans of water, taco seasoning and HVR dressing mix.  You can also add 1/4 cup Minute Rice if you like, or so they say. I never have.

Stir it good and bring it up to a boil.

Step Three:

Once it boils, turn it down to medium low or low and let it simmer for 5 minutes. After 5 minutes, it’ll look like this:

That’s it.

It’s done.

Step Four:

Serve it up. Get you a big, ole bowl and eat it while you’re sitting in front of the TV watching some Andy Griffith. I did.

For a 1-cup serving, it’s 2 WW points.  Of course you have to add more points for all those toppings and the chips.

Oh, and the longer it sits, the better it is.  Sometimes I make it on Saturday or Sunday and stick it in the fridge right in the pot with a top on.  Then, sometime during the week when I want to eat it, I just stick it back on the stove to heat it up.

We all love it!

Except NG2.

Make it and comment back letting me know what you think.  I can’t wait to hear!

Printable recipe card: click, print, cut, and go.

Taco Soup

6 thoughts on “As Promised. Taco Soup. It’s the poo.

Leave a Reply

