Meatloaf Muffins. Like Meatloaf. But in Muffin Form.

Here’s the thing:  when I was growing up, I was allergic to tomatoes.  Think of all the things kids eat that have tomatoes in them: ketchup, pizza, spaghetti. Meat Loaf covered in tomato gravy.

Because I never had these things, I never really developed a taste for any of them. Except ketchup. Let’s just say I outgrew my allergy for that.

To this day, I prefer pizza, no sauce. Pasta with non-tomato-based sauce. And I don’t care at all for meat loaf.

But I love these.

And so do my kids.

We eat them with…what else? Ketchup!

Here’s what you need to get started:

Not only is it easy. It’s cheap.

1 lb. ground beef (7% fat)
2 egg whites
1 cup water
1 pkg. Stove Top stuffing (any flavor)
A muffin tin
Pam
A bowl for mixing (not pictured because, well, I forgot; it will have a starring role later)

Step One (after gathering the ingredients, of course):

Oh, and preheating the oven to 350 degrees.


Back to Step One: TAKE OFF THE RING! This will get messy.

Remind me later where I put that, would ya?

Step Two:

Put all ingredients together into a mixing bowl. Just dump it in. The stuffing should go in dry. Like this:

Told you it would get a little messy.

Step Three:

When it’s thoroughly  mixed, divide it into twelve, equal portions and load them into the (sprayed with Pam) muffin pan.

It may not look like much now, but just wait one cotton-pickin’ minute.

Bake them in the oven for 20-30 minutes.  Heck, just split the difference and go with 25.

After they’re done, they look like this:

A new kind of yum!

Let them cool for a few, then dig them out with a fork.  Because you sprayed the pan, they should lift out easily.

Serve. With mashed potatoes. And ketchup.

Each muffin is worth 2 WW points. Eat 2. Or 3. ish.

Put the ring back on.  Otherwise, Laila-dog will eat it.

Printable recipe card here. Click, print, cut, and go.

Meat Loaf Muffins

One thought on “Meatloaf Muffins. Like Meatloaf. But in Muffin Form.

Leave a Reply

